I lost a half pound this morning, and I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a little bit disappointed. I keep telling myself that that's a half pound less than I weighed yesterday, but numbers like that are going to make it tough for me to hit my pound-per-day-average goal. Even though the numbers on the scale are creeping down and some of my measurements are about the same, it's pretty bizarre to watch my body changing shape. I need to see about snapping some pics this weekend so I can compare, but I know my floppy belly looks different than it did 2 weeks ago. I noticed tonight that HS's face is looking thinner already (he's tried to get me to feel the moobs, but I've politely declined).
I went to the grocery store today to pick up a few things and found that none of the "garbage food" even sounds good to me right now. Even my favorites--pasta, pizza, Italian bread, cheese, potato soup--just don't sound appealing. I can't think of a single food that's worth being fat for. I wish that I could really crunch into something, but I'm not craving any particular foods or flavors, so I feel like I'm making some progress with my attitude towards food.
When I was done shopping and went to check out, I was behind a woman with a full cart. I could tell from the items in her cart that she was a coupon shopper taking advantage of the weekly advertised specials--something my friends and I are wont to do. (Well...not me so much anymore because there aren't many coupons for lean meat, veggies, and apples, but I'll get back to that.) I watched with interest as her items were scanned and bagged and then her coupons were deducted. I couldn't see what her pre-coupon total was, but after coupons, she paid just over $15 for a full cart of groceries. I'd guess that she probably saved around 80% off her order. My first instinct was to congratulate the fellow-couponer for a job well-done, but then I thought about what I had just seen her buy. DiGiornio Pizzas. Oreos. Ritz Crackers. Kraft Macaroni and Cheese. Diet Dr. Pepper. All Garbage Food. She paid $15 for a cart of crap. I looked more closely at the shopper. She was built like me. She had a girl around LittleBoy's age in the cart, and I felt bad that they were going to go home and eat crap. It truly sucks that so many of us these days HAVE to watch every penny we spend and shop the specials at the grocery store, and it sucks even more that the most affordable stuff is the stuff that's the worst for us. Why does it have to be so expensive to feed your family good, healthy stuff? I didn't have half as many groceries as the shopper in front of me, but I spent $75 to bring home milk for the kids, some turkey to replace the salami LittleGirl has been taking in her lunch, sparkling water, natural peanut butter, lean beef, and lots of fruits and veggies (and of course there wasn't a single coupon for anything in my cart). It stinks that I have to spend five times as much to feed my family good food, but for the sake of our health, I can't afford NOT to.
Products We Use
Thursday, September 24, 2009
192.0
Followed the diet 100% and I lost 1.4 pounds. Like I said yesterday, I don't know what led to me not losing as much yesterday but I definitely like seeing that "1" in front of the decimal place. I'm hoping to be below the 190 mark by Sunday morning. There will be some temptation this weekend besides football snaking and drinking; I'm taking LittleGirlSchrader to the movies Friday night. Our normal Daddy/Daughter date involves a fun dinner (burgers, dogs, pizza, you name it); a movie with slushies, candy, AND of course popcorn; and afterwards a healthy dose of ice cream or boba. And if you don't know what boba is you are surely missing out. It's a wonderful concoction created by boiling tapioca. Once boiled it turns into a slightly smaller than a marble black chewy bead of yumminess which is then added to any iced coffee, tea, or fruit slush you like. Very tasty but very unhealthy.
I can avoid the dinner, just eat at home before we leave. I can avoid the ice cream or treat afterwards, that's not my biggest concern. The true test will be can I avoid the popcorn? How can a person go to the movies and not partake? This is going to be the first real test I'm going to encounter.
Health wise, feeling just fine. Occasionally I get a hunger pain but I still believe it's more mental, I'm having a harder time coming to terms with what I shouldn't eat ever again. I've been trying to convince myself that I can treat myself afterwards in moderation or on special occasions and that I won't have to turn down every slice of b-day cake or cookie that comes across my desk. I'm trying to come to sometime of agreement with myself or system that will work but I haven't figured it out yet and I really think this will be a big part of me staying slim for many years to come.
Followed the diet 100% and I lost 1.4 pounds. Like I said yesterday, I don't know what led to me not losing as much yesterday but I definitely like seeing that "1" in front of the decimal place. I'm hoping to be below the 190 mark by Sunday morning. There will be some temptation this weekend besides football snaking and drinking; I'm taking LittleGirlSchrader to the movies Friday night. Our normal Daddy/Daughter date involves a fun dinner (burgers, dogs, pizza, you name it); a movie with slushies, candy, AND of course popcorn; and afterwards a healthy dose of ice cream or boba. And if you don't know what boba is you are surely missing out. It's a wonderful concoction created by boiling tapioca. Once boiled it turns into a slightly smaller than a marble black chewy bead of yumminess which is then added to any iced coffee, tea, or fruit slush you like. Very tasty but very unhealthy.
I can avoid the dinner, just eat at home before we leave. I can avoid the ice cream or treat afterwards, that's not my biggest concern. The true test will be can I avoid the popcorn? How can a person go to the movies and not partake? This is going to be the first real test I'm going to encounter.
Health wise, feeling just fine. Occasionally I get a hunger pain but I still believe it's more mental, I'm having a harder time coming to terms with what I shouldn't eat ever again. I've been trying to convince myself that I can treat myself afterwards in moderation or on special occasions and that I won't have to turn down every slice of b-day cake or cookie that comes across my desk. I'm trying to come to sometime of agreement with myself or system that will work but I haven't figured it out yet and I really think this will be a big part of me staying slim for many years to come.

