Products We Use

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Day 8: In the Groove

Woohoo!  Down another 1.1 pounds today, bringing my total net loss to 5.6 pounds.  


The diet protocol is coming more easily to me now.  I'm not having as much trouble resisting nibbles of this or that, and I still don't feel hungry most of the time.  To keep HS satisfied, I've been trying my best to come up with new meal ideas, and I've been proud of some of my creations!  The salsa I made for dinner last night was especially yummy.  Remembering the pepperocini debacle, I left out peppers and opted to spice it up with black pepper, cayenne pepper, and crushed red pepper.  I cheated slightly by adding a bit of yellow and green onions to the tomatoes (we're not supposed to mix vegetables), but I don't think that had an impact on our weight loss.  Tonight I made Italian meatballs, and while they were missing my favorite parts--seasoned breadcrumbs, lots of cheese, and al dente pasta, they turned out fairly well.  I made a sauce from canned organic tomato sauce and canned organic diced tomatoes, a little bit of chicken broth to thin it out, fresh basil, chopped garlic, and dashes of this and that from the spice cabinet.  With both the salsa and the tomato sauce, I HAD to taste as I was cooking to make sure the flavors were right, but I was careful to only take the bites that were absolutely necessary.  (I wonder if I've proven to HS yet that I don't want to eat bland food?)


Dinner was also a success tonight because it was the closest we've come so far to everyone eating the same meal.  The kids got the same mini-meatballs that we did, but had some pasta, carrots, and milk along with them.  I expected LittleBoy to throw the meatballs on the floor like he does with most everything else, but he thoroughly enjoyed dipping them in the carrots' ranch dressing and scarfing them that way.  


Goal #1 for this week is to have at least half of this week's dinners be family affairs like tonight's was.  I'm trying to retrain all of us, so why shouldn't the kids eat what we're eating?


Goal #2 is to increase my water intake.  I've been having about 96 oz each day, and I need to have at least 128 oz.  The more water I drink, the more fat I can flush!


Goal #3 is to average a loss of at least a pound per day this week.  According to the doc, we'll see the biggest numbers in these first two weeks.  Of course, I'd like to see bigger drops, but I'm trying to be realistic.  


OK...off for the night to go let my fiber pills do their magic!

Not too Shabby

193.4
I lost another .8 pounds, not exactly the results I wanted (I've been hoping for a pound a day) but it might be that I deviated a little yesterday. I didn't have any fruit yesterday and I doubt that I had enough water. Both of these I believe led to no bm which I feel caused me not to lose as much as I had hoped. And I had a Dellalo breadstick, first snack I've had so far and it was because Big D brought in cookies to work and Vanopolis brought in Moustokouloura which I can't believe I turned down.

The not so shabby news is that The Doc confirmed that I am losing my moobs! I've lost 6.5 total inches since my initial weigh in, with 3/4" from the moobs, 1.75 from the waist, 1.75 from the rear, and the rest from the legs. Nothing from the arms which I take to mean that the guns are for real! Blood pressure went down too, had been 126/80, now 110/70.

Funny thing at The Doc's, my appointment was at 5:45 and I had already eaten dinner as well as lunch and my water so I expected to weigh more than I had in the morning, which was the case. And of course clothes contributed to the extra weight but I was surprised by my "necessities". I hadn't taken out my keys, phone, or wallet for the initial weigh-in. When I mentioned that to The Doc she told me to empty my pockets and weigh-in again. ONE WHOLE POUND! I was flabbergasted! I don't carry a big wallet and my phone isn't huge but the keys made a big difference.

So the goal today is to focus and stick to the protocol 100%. Need to get back to a pound a day.