I finally got called out today. What is up with the blog? Admittedly, I wasn't very good about blogging at the beginning of this round because I was disappointed in my losses and didn't want to whine too much. Now that my losses are going better, I should be writing more, but I've been busy, tired, and uninspired.
This whole "work" thing stinks. I'm so grateful that it only lasts about three months, because it seriously cuts into my internet time. Plus, I'm worried that it's going to end up costing me more to work because I'm going to have to replace my work clothes. I had hoped to get through this season without having to buy new pants (because I plan to be several sizes smaller by next year), but the pants I have are getting ridiculously big. While I'm excited by the prospect of getting into to a smaller size, I'm not thrilled with shelling out $$$ for pants I'll only wear for a couple more months.
I'm still not cooking anything exciting, either. Without HS's demands for a variety of tasty food, I've been content to eat the same thing day after day. A roast thrown in the pressure is good for a couple meals for the whole family and several more meals for me. And if I'm making one chicken breast, why not make 8 of them and eat them for four days. I just really don't really care to put the effort into making my food right now, which is fine for me, but the family is suffering a bit, too. They've had their fair share of frozen pizzas in the last couple of weeks, but I have been checking ingredient lists, and I don't think they're suffering too badly.
Speaking of checking ingredient lists....I went to the grocery store today and I was SHOCKED! I know I shouldn't be anymore, but it amazes me how low the food manufacturers will stoop! I'm learning not to trust anything on the front of packages anymore because the food companies are sneaky. Case in point: I was going to buy LittleGirl some juice for her lunch box. Like the health-conscious Mom I am, I reached for the Capri Sun Roaring Waters since that's WAY healthier than the regular Capri Sun. The box was nearly in my cart when I flipped it over to check out the nutritional information. INGREDIENTS: water, high fructose corn syrup, citric acid, sucralose (Splenda brand sweetener), natural flavor. I give them credit for actually putting water in it, but the HFCS and Splenda were shockers for me! If you don't know much about those two evils, check these links out:
The Double Danger of HFCS
Women and HFCS
Children, Allergies, and HFCS
Women and Splenda
Children and Splenda
Better yet, head to your library and check out ANY book my Michael Pollan for an extremely eye-opening look at the food we eat.
Bottom line: I'm doing my best to raise my kids with as little chemical exposure as possible. Sure, they're going to come in contact with yucky stuff, but I'm not going to knowingly pump crap into their bodies. No more Capri Suns--of any kind--for our household! If you're a parent, I urge you to check the labels of the food you give your kids. MOST food marketed to kids is full artificial, chemical, and processed garbage. Sure, they're convenient, but Pop-Tarts, fruit snacks, Kool-Aid, granola bars, commercially-produced flavored yogurts, and even many of the juice drinks are flat out BAD for your kids, and they deserve better.
Which also reminds me of one more interesting blog I've been following. Mrs. Q is a teacher who was disturbed by the school lunches she saw every day, so she's vowed to eat school lunch every day in 2010 to bring light to the terrible offerings. Check her out at Fed Up.
(Oh, and me? I'm down 11.7 this round after gaining back more than a pound yesterday. I believe it was from using Vicks, which contains a whole array of oils, to try to treat my cold. Regardless, I'm still down more than 40 pounds since September!)

