Woohoo! Down another 1.1 pounds this morning! I LOVE that! I can't believe that we have less than two weeks remaining for the low-calorie diet. The time has gone by much faster than I expected it to, and I'm really going to be sorry to see the 500 calorie days go away--mostly because I don't have to put much thought into what I'm eating. I've been hearing and reading horror stories about people having trouble stabilizing in Phase 3 of the Protocol, but I keep dismissing those troubles as problems of people who don't continue to eat healthfully after Phase 2. I certainly hope that by remaining vigilant about keeping artificial ingredients and processed foods out of my (and the whole family's) diet, stabilizing will be effortless.
When Phase 3 begins, we must drastically increase our protein consumption, but continue to stay away from sugar and starch. I will likely continue to "pre-cook" a lot of food (albeit in larger portions) in an effort to prevent slip-ups. Pre-HCG, I often "just didn't feel like cooking," which meant fast food or frozen pizzas. If I can make sure that we have healthy choices quickly and readily available, perhaps I can keep from falling back into old habits.
I am quite fearful of adding items back to my diet. It's been easy to say, "No, I can't have ANY cashews," for example, but how easy will it be for me to say, "Yes, I can have a FEW cashews"? (Notice I didn't say ANYTHING about cheese?!?) I ate like crap before, and I felt like crap. I've been eating better now, and I feel better. What if I can't tolerate some foods anymore? I've decided it's going to be absolutely essential for me to keep a detailed food diary so I can see exactly how my food choices affect my weight and my overall well-being. I intend to add foods back slowly; I'm not sure how practical it will be, but I'd like to reintroduce foods one at a time so I can more accurately pinpoint the cause of any weight gain or adverse reaction.
The plan is to finish up injections ten days from now, followed by three more days of the 500-calorie diet without the HCG injections. Then we begin the three weeks of increased calories and food choices (without sugar or starches), before we can supposedly add those back to the diet as well. That puts us right before Thanksgiving. I want to begin another cycle, but I must wait at least six weeks in between cycles to make sure that I've stabilized and to help prevent immunity to the HCG. Rather than begin again right before Christmas, however, I'm going to wait until the beginning of the year, which will put me into March before Round 2 is complete. I haven't even finished this round yet, but I'm already anxious to get started on the next one. I'll likely have somebody else going through Round 2 with me, but I think it will be much more difficult to not have HS doing it with me. It's been really nice to have him injecting with me (did I ever mention that I had to give him his first shot?), weighing with me (and good-jobbing each other by the scale most mornings), eating with me (even if it's yucky burned chicken or the fourth beef day in a row), and celebrating newly-baggy clothes with me. *sniff sniff* I'm gonna miss that guy (although the hot one who took his place is alright, too, I guess.)
Products We Use
Saturday, October 17, 2009
When will the madness end?!
177.4
I really must have read the scale wrong 2 days ago! Had what I thought was a sizable loss then (supposedly) had a gain, now today I'm down another 1.4 pounds. Just plain crazy! So this morning, immediately after weighing myself I wrote down my weight, I didn't want there to be any chance that I forgot the number or wrote down the wrong thing after getting ready for the day.
Still extremely happy with the losses. I would not have been able to lose 27.2 pounds in the 5 weeks I've been doing this protocol (I think it's only fair to count the week of detox in the equation). SS and I have 2 more weeks to go and while I'm looking forward to starting to run again I think SS is more interested in cheese. I should call her Wallace. While she hasn't said anything else about making cheese she did post a link to my Google Reader about a cheese store that recently opened in the Phoenix area! Luckily it's far enough away that I don't need to worry about her making daily cheese runs.
For the record the majority of my food related desires have gone away. I'm not craving the after work (or during lunch) beers at all. I am looking forward to buying a good bottle of bourbon but I have a feeling the nips will not be as frequent as they might have been. I'm also not craving the sweets as much, candy just seems like a waste and cheap, factory made pastries just won't cut it anymore. Same with the greasy fried food. The state fair has been in town and every time I think about the Polish corn dogs I used to love I feel a little ill.
The only issue I'm having right now is figuring out when in the day I will be working out. I want to start running in the mornings but I am a huge snooze button fiend, plus I go into work about an hour earlier than the rest of my team and I have close to a 45 minute drive in the morning, and when I get out of phase 2 I need to start preparing breakfast for myself. If I try running in the morning I'll probably have to be out of the sack by 4:30 the latest. I don't want to run at night because I'd rather focus on some strength exercises and I don't want to get my adrenaline up too much before I go to bed.
So what do you think? What are the pros and cons of running in the morning and/or night? Am I thinking about this too much? Advice is more than welcome.
I really must have read the scale wrong 2 days ago! Had what I thought was a sizable loss then (supposedly) had a gain, now today I'm down another 1.4 pounds. Just plain crazy! So this morning, immediately after weighing myself I wrote down my weight, I didn't want there to be any chance that I forgot the number or wrote down the wrong thing after getting ready for the day.
Still extremely happy with the losses. I would not have been able to lose 27.2 pounds in the 5 weeks I've been doing this protocol (I think it's only fair to count the week of detox in the equation). SS and I have 2 more weeks to go and while I'm looking forward to starting to run again I think SS is more interested in cheese. I should call her Wallace. While she hasn't said anything else about making cheese she did post a link to my Google Reader about a cheese store that recently opened in the Phoenix area! Luckily it's far enough away that I don't need to worry about her making daily cheese runs.
For the record the majority of my food related desires have gone away. I'm not craving the after work (or during lunch) beers at all. I am looking forward to buying a good bottle of bourbon but I have a feeling the nips will not be as frequent as they might have been. I'm also not craving the sweets as much, candy just seems like a waste and cheap, factory made pastries just won't cut it anymore. Same with the greasy fried food. The state fair has been in town and every time I think about the Polish corn dogs I used to love I feel a little ill.
The only issue I'm having right now is figuring out when in the day I will be working out. I want to start running in the mornings but I am a huge snooze button fiend, plus I go into work about an hour earlier than the rest of my team and I have close to a 45 minute drive in the morning, and when I get out of phase 2 I need to start preparing breakfast for myself. If I try running in the morning I'll probably have to be out of the sack by 4:30 the latest. I don't want to run at night because I'd rather focus on some strength exercises and I don't want to get my adrenaline up too much before I go to bed.
So what do you think? What are the pros and cons of running in the morning and/or night? Am I thinking about this too much? Advice is more than welcome.

