175.3
Seems like my work days are getting more and more full! Saw the doc after work today and things went well. Lost a few more inches around the ribs, waist, and buttocks. I still feel like I have a lot to lose but I have to remind myself that I've already shed close to 30 pounds in 6 weeks. I'm so ready for this to be over though, I want to move on.
On to the running....
This is what I've researched so far; Chi running is a lot like pose method running which has been around since 1977. Both methodologies focus on running with out injury, and they do so by stressing the importance of the bodies position while running. Chi running tries to delve into the meditation possibilities of running while pose method is more concerned with posture. My very brief explanation is only from reviewing both the Chi running and pose method websites, I have not had the opportunity to read the books or watch the videos yet but when I do will post more.
An important thing both mention is shoes. Both styles stress that running shoes with a heal force the runner's foot to strike the ground heel first which is unnatural. If you were to run barefoot you would notice that your forefoot strikes the ground first. I checked and there are not a lot of shoes available like this and those that are available are not the most reasonable. Newton shoes focuses on this type of shoe and New Balance has one in their inventory as well. Nike has the biggest selection with their Free line but it still has a heel. Then there's Five Fingers by Vibram. This might get you the closest to running barefoot with out tearing up your piggies. I keep telling myself that there is no way I'd wear these but I am a bit curious. Realistically, if I already had a pair of running shoes I liked and an extra $125 laying around I might pick up a pair of their KSO Treks. Only live once and I'd hate to be missing out.
Another item I researched the other day was running logs/devices. I had been leaning towards the Nike+ Sportsband mostly because I'm sure my iPod will eventually die and I don't plan on replacing it when it does. Not that I don't want a portable media device but that's another story for another blog somewhere down the road. So what Nike has is a device called Nike+ that you can connect to your shoe (or if you have a Nike+ shoe you place the little node in a slot made into the shoe) and if you have purchased the Nike+ device made for an iPod you can track your running stats. Me, I wanted the Sportsband so I wouldn't be tied down to an iPod. With Sportsband your stats are loaded onto a PC once you connect it via USB. The Nike+ link takes you to what s tracked and also some online community info.
Luckily SS talked me out of it. Some of her running friends use a Garmin Forerunner 305 to track their runs. While the Nike+ is cheaper it misses out on a major item, GPS. The Forerunner 305 has built in GPS so when you get done with your run you not only have your times and distance, you also have the actual run which uses Google Maps! Altitude is also stored so you can compare how you did during inclines. Definitely check out the Garmin site ad what their devices track, it's very impressive. Although the Forerunner 305 is not the newest model I liked the fact that it tracks your heartbeat without an added peripheral. Also, there is an accessory you can purchase to track your bike rides and another for indoor running.
Now here is the plan. I want to start running immediately after my 6 weeks are up. Unless Garmin and New Balance are so generous that they send me a Forerunner 305 and a pair of MR800s I'm likely going to start off with the NBs I currently have and an old IronMan stopwatch that's been sitting in my watch case for the last 10 years. Unfortunately I have to refocus on revamping my wardrobe, the pants 3 sizes too big have to take precedence.


0 things people said:
Post a Comment